Psalms 22 Parallel

https://groveonline.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php#This is one of the many Christological passages of the Old Testament that prophetically foreshadows the coming Messiah hundreds of years before Christ was born. Psalm 22 shows how David is a type of Christ through his sufferings and servitude to God.
Whether the suffering and mistreatment of David in Psalms 22 actually happened to him or he wrote this Psalm by the unction of God with the purpose of pointing to Christ I don’t know.

What is for sure is that Jesus was the fulfillment of this Psalm and that Jesus spoke the words of it while on the cross knowing that He was fulfilling this Psalm.

V1. My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me? [Why are You so] far from helping Me, [And from] the words of My groaning?

Mat 27:46 – And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?” Mar 15:34

V6. But I [am] a worm, and no man; A reproach of men, and despised by the people.

Luk 23:36 – The soldiers also mocked Him, coming and offering Him sour wine, Mat 27:29, Mar 15:20 ,Luk 22:63

V7-8. All those who see Me ridicule Me; They shoot out the lip, they shake the head, [saying], He trusted in the LORD, let Him rescue Him; Let Him deliver Him, since He delights in Him!”

Luk 23:35 – And the people stood looking on. But even the rulers with them sneered, saying, “He saved others; let Him save Himself if He is the Christ, the chosen of God.” Luk 23:36, Mat 27:42, Luk 23:39

V10. I was cast upon You from birth. From My mother’s womb You [have been] My God.

Luk 2:40 – And the Child grew and became strong in spirit, filled with wisdom; and the grace of God was upon Him.

Luk 1:80

V13. They gape at Me [with] their mouths, [Like] a raging and roaring lion.

Mat 27:44 – Even the robbers who were crucified with Him reviled Him with the same thing. Mar 15:32

V14. I am poured out like water…

Jhn 19:34 – But one of the soldiers pierced His side with a spear, and immediately blood and water came out.

V14. And all My bones are out of joint; My heart is like wax; It has melted within Me.

Jhn 19:34 – But when they came to Jesus and saw that He was already dead, they did not break His legs.

V15. And My tongue clings to My jaws

Jhn 19:28- After this, Jesus, knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the Scripture might be fulfilled, said, “I thirst!”

V15. My strength is dried up like a potsherd, And My tongue clings to My jaws; You have brought Me to the dust of death.

Jhn 19:30 – So when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And bowing His head, He gave up His spirit.

V16. For dogs have surrounded Me; The congregation of the wicked has enclosed Me.

Mat 27:38 – Then two robbers were crucified with Him, one on the right and another on the left. Mar 15:27, Luk 23:33

V16. They pierced My hands and My feet;

Jhn 20:27 – Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand [here], and put [it] into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.”

V17. They divide My garments among them, And for My clothing they cast lots.

Mar 15:24 – And when they crucified Him, they divided His garments, casting lots for them to determine what every man should take. Mat 27:35, Luk 23:34, Jhn 19:24

V18. I will declare Your name to My brethren; In the midst of the assembly I will praise You.

Luk 24:47 – and that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in His name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.

V27. All the ends of the world Shall remember and turn to the LORD, And all the families of the nations Shall worship before You.

Rev 21:3 – And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God.

I hope this parallel is as eye-opening to you as it was to me! God knew what He was doing ever since the beginning, we can know this because the need for a personal savior and Lord has been present throughout history ever since sin entered the scene. Let us also recognize that Jesus was not just a New Testament thing, He was the Messiah that was predicted by prophets as far back as the Garden of Eden (Genesis 3:15).
To fully appreciate the depth of who Jesus Christ is, we must understand the beauty and turmoil of the Old Covenant. We must accept that the Jews were God’s chosen people from which and for which Jesus was born.

One thought on “Psalms 22 Parallel

Leave a Reply

