The Word for the Homeless

I had an idea a while back to give Bibles out to homeless people that dwell in my area, but not just any Bible – the idea was to highlight certain passages of the Bible that dealt with specific topics in different colors. So far the simplest categories I could come up with were Christian Identity and Instructions, Christ and His Work, and Sin.

My hope is that the recipient would look at the Bible in a new light – as something that has answers instead of an intimidating book I could never read. As they flip through it not sure what to read they may find helpful passages that they would otherwise have skipped over.

I posted this as it may help other believers in their Bible reading and I’d appreciate it if any of you have any scriptures to add to this collection.

 

Jesus and His Work

Isa. 9:6

Mic. 5:2

Mat. 4:23, 8:29

Mar 3:11, 15:2

Luk. 4:43, 5:31-32, 27:70

Jhn. 1:1-14, 29, 8:28, 10:30, 12:50, 14:10, 15:1-2, 20:28

Act. 8:37, 9:20

Rom. 1:4, 3:24, 5:8, 5:8-11, 6:8

Php. 2:6-11

Col. 1:3, 13-22, 2:9-15

1 Tim. 3:16

Tts. 2:11, 13-14

Heb. 1, 2:3, 9-11, 18, 4:14-16, 9:13-15

1Pet. 1:18-21, 3:18, 4:6-10

2Pet. 2:1-2

1Jhn. 2:1-2, 3:1, 4:9-10, 5:5, 20

 

Christian Identity & Instruction

Psa. 1:1-5

Pro. 16:2-3, 6-8, 16, 18, 22, 25, 32

Isa. 1:16-17

Mat. 6:33-34, 7:14, 21-24, 10:39

Mar. 13:35-37

Luk. 11:13, 12:34-36, 14:27, 18:17

Jhn. 14:13-15, 21, 15:7, 12-13

Rom. 6:1-3, 8:1, 6-7, 12:1-2

1Cor. 6:12, 10:13, 13:4-8, 14:1

Gal. 5:22-26

Eph. 4:1-6, 17-19, 21-28, 5:1-5, 8-11, 6:10-18

Php. 2:3-5, 3:8, 18-20

Col. 1:10-12, 2:8

Tts. 2:12

Heb. 11:1, 12:1-8, 13:5

Jam. 1:2-4, 7-10, 12, 2:14-17, 3:3-12, 3:16-18, 4:3-8, 17, 5:7-9

1Pet. 1:13-17, 22-23, 2:1-3, 3:9

1Jhn. 1:6-10,16, 2:3-6, 15-18, 3:1-3, 16-20, 4:1-3, 7-8, 11

 

Sin and the Carnal Nature

Psa. 1:6, 32:5

Pro. 15:29, 26:11, 28:13

Isa. 1:18, 59:2

Mat. 5:28, 12:31

Luk.8:17

Jhn. 3:19-20

Rom 6:1-3, 23,

1Cor 6:9-13

Gal. 5:19-21

Eph. 5:5-6

Col. 3:5-6

Heb. 10:26

Jam. 1:14, 4:4

1Pet. 4:18

1Jhn. 1:8, 10, 2:15-17, 3:15

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Word for the Homeless

  1. Grove, I would hate to disappoint you by not posting a reply… 🙂

    …but I have an observation…

    Please take this as a “thought question” rather than as a criticism, k?

    Are the scriptures a collection of proof-texts? Do we pull a verse out of Isaiah, one from Micah… and string them together to “prove our point”? Is this how the scriptures are composed?

    For example, what does this prove?:

    Mar 3:19 And Judas Iscariot, which also betrayed him: and they went into an house.

    What does this prove?:

    Gen 39:16 And she laid up his garment by her, until his lord came home.

    In other words, when you take a single sentence out of its context, what is its true value for determining the actual import of the whole text?

    Is God mentally challenged? Is he stoopid? Is the only way he can communicate by dropping “hints” in obscure places?

    If God is so fond of Isaiah 9:6, why did he write all of those other chapters?

    My thought is that people get spoon fed a dogma, then pore over the scriptures to find proof texts that support the dogma. Isn’t that backwards?

    Again, please take this as food for thought.

    • WoundedEgo this is a question that seems to be on topic and worth answering so here it goes:

      You should know I value context being that I posted a blog on it sometime back and see the problems of leaving out context however the scriptures are a collection of long narratives, letters and poems, since the chapters and verses weren’t original where do we draw the line? When I tell someone they should know Jesus as Lord and they ask why should I tell them to read the Gospels and leave it at that or can I simply quote 1 or 2 scriptures that clearly declare it? If someone asks about how to live a victorious Christian life, should I just tell them to read the entire book of Ephesians (knowing they probably won’t) or can I mention a few scriptures that sum up the ideas and encourage them to read further on their own now that they have a basic idea? But where do we draw the line when helping one find topics in the Bible? I obviously don’t want the recipients of these Bibles to ONLY read the scriptures highlighted, I only want to draw their eye to certain topics in a easier way and thus encourage further reading and thought.

      You mentioned a few scriptures that don’t mean much without context, what about those that don’t require a whole lot of context? The scriptures I have listed here are nearly self contained, sure understanding the Old Covenant origin of some ideas we have in the New Covenant would help but most scriptures are pretty self explanatory, if they want further explanation they can dig deeper, at least the found the scripture to begin with!

      And to Donald-
      I understand what you are saying and it does shed light on a problem of this idea- that I am the one picking what is relevant and not. But I don’t think that completely trumps the idea of this project or renders it as a waste of time. And as to the rest of what you said I’m going to assume that after the “Pshaw!” you were being very sarcastic, it was actually kind of entertaining and enlightening.

      Thanks for your comments and concern guys.

      • Grove,

        Glad you caught the sarcasm. On my worst day I could never speak so arrogantly as I did there!

        Go with what you know, brother. Give homeless people Bibles upon Bibles. Who can say if The LORD will not introduce Himself to one of these folks because of your actions?

        I surely cannot.

  2. Grove,
    I think this is a brilliant idea. Will it bear fruit? That’s not mine to determine.

    Perhaps next time, though, you might want to consider giving out copies of Luther’s 95, instead. Or better yet, Young’s complete concordance of The King James Bible. Don’t waste your time actually highlighting Scriptures you decide are relevant or can pierce the very souls of men! How quaint!

    Not that you are wrong, no. But I mean, there are better ways, (like if you do it my way, for instance), of giving people the truth that really matters regarding Jesus. People don’t need your opinion, Grove. Pshaw! They need the wisdom and knowledge that people like me can bring them. Your good intentions are just blase and so futile, really.

    Listen, anytime you need advice or wise counsel regarding The Holy Bible and all documents that support it in a tradition I follow, you just let me know. I would be happy to school you in my own backhanded way.

    I know you are trying to be all spiritual and what-not, but remember: It is knowing The Bible that matters. And only people like me can help you understand The Bible like it was meant to be understood.

    Sure, sure…help the homeless and blah blah blah. That’s nice and all, but…what matters is not doing stuff like that. Have you learned nothing from reading The Bible?

    My two cents.

  3. Grove,

    Thanks for having a heart of concern for others…

    One aspect of sharing Christ with others is simply showing them Bible teachings about their condition and it’s results for their life as well as what Christ has done to remedy the situation they are in.

    From what I understand that is all that you are doing.

    Far better than handing them a Bible and simply saying “go for it” without giving any direction to them.

    May the Lord bless this new ministry you have begun.

    • That’s exactly what I am wanting to do, I like how you put it in to words, I don’t want to do the hit and run “go for it” thing and have them intimidated by this huge religious book that’s been thrown in their face (probably) all their life for the worse. However, my error is that they aren’t alone when they are handed the Bible and the teacher of all teacher and pastor of all pastors is with them to help but… can some brotherly help hurt? Am I disabling God by highlighting the scriptures that have impacted many before? I don’t think so.

  4. Grove,

    Have you begun this endeavor yet, or is it still in the planning stages?

    I liked what you said about ‘a huge religious book that’s been thrown in their face all their life or worse’.

    I have noticed that some homeless folks are completely desensitized to The Gospel simply because they know that even if they don’t receive it, Christians will still keep helping them. Much like the crowd that followed Jesus the next morning after the great loaves and fishes miracle, some of the homeless hang out because Christians represent food, clothing, or sometimes shelter.

    Please do not misconstrue my words as being from a cold and harsh heart. I am making an open observation. I struggle myself with helping the poor or the homeless or those on the streets because I wonder if it really makes a difference based on the aforementioned observations.

    I reckon it is my immaturity or my inability to help people without analyzing their reactions. I’m working on it. It’s uncomfortable, but…it is where our Father has me right now.

    Thanks for causing me to consider certain things I normally would ignore.

  5. I have finished my first Bible and plan on giving it to a certain homeless individual unless the Spirit changes my mind while I have it in my car on my way to work. I didn’t take your observation as cold or negative, it was a helpful counter opinion.
    Regardless if there is fruit or not when we do the basics – feed the hungry, clothe the naked, protect the shelterless, and love everyone – we are still commanded to do it. The Gospel seems to present these things as unconditional.
    I don’t think it’s right that we assume what that guy is going to use our bucks on which is judging, we are simply required to give it and help, let the Spirit do the rest.
    You’re welcome! I’ve thought a lot about this too and you all help aswell.

Leave a Reply

