Something Borrowed

What happens when we give our whole life to God? What does that Christianese cliche even mean? Did you know God doesn’t just ask for your Sunday mornings and your nighttime prayers? He asks for it all. Here is what it looks like when you believe God is more qualified to run my life than you are.
1Corinthians 6:19 – Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit [who is] in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?
1Corinthians 6:20 – For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.
In 2009 when I was getting serious with my photography I borrowed a friends camera. This camera was really nice, probably about 3 or 4000 dollars worth and needless to say I did not really know how to use it very well. That weekend I had a wedding scheduled so I used this camera to shoot my friends wedding. I had a lot of fun with that camera for about a week taking amazing pictures but eventually I had to give it back. Now what if my friend, the owner of the camera, had shot the wedding and taken the same pictures I took? I have no doubt that they would have been 10X better than mine. Not only did he have over a year experience with that camera (and I a few days) but he had been in the photography business for years before I was and he is really good. In his hands that same camera could have done wonders.When we give our life back to the One who truly owns it greater things can be done than if we try to do it all ourselves. Give your life over to God’s control and let him use it to create true master pieces! This means your thoughts, your future plans, your opinions, and even your sinful mistakes. He wants it all! And when we give it back to Him we find that He gives us real life and satisfaction in return.

Mark 8:36 – “For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul?

Proverbs 3:6 – In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.

2 thoughts on “Something Borrowed

  1. I think the Creator wants us to borrow his stuff, so we can appreciate what he does, and share in the creativity. Naturally, he does a better job. but that is part of the learning process, and in sharing, we grow closer to him.

    I have a cell phone, and I can use it better than my 7 year old grandson, but he loves to get on there and play with the menu and options and games. I really enjoy watching his face light up as he “conquers” it.

    I think our heavenly Father also watches us as we try out his “APPs” on his creation. Eventually he has to take his cell phone back, but we will still have those happy memories of trying out his phone.

    The friend of yours could do a better job with the camera, but you really did have a good time with it.

    cheers.

    • Thanks for commenting. I agree God has given us a lot of things that we should have fun with, use and are required to be stewards over. But my thought behind this blog is that of combating the hedonistic/humanist mindset of “I can do this life thing on my own, I don’t need God”. But this lifestyle is very destructive, lonely, and unsatisfying not to mention – unsaved! Who am I to think I can run my life better than God can?
      That’s a great analogy though of the phone!

Leave a Reply

